Investor's Guide - International Agreements

Agência para o Investimento e Comércio Externo de Portugal


Homepage » Invest in Portugal » International Agreements

Invest in Portugal



International Agreements  


1. Agreements for the Reciprocal Protection and Promotion of Investments


1. Agreements for the Reciprocal Protection and Promotion of InvestmentsAgreements for the Reciprocal Protection and Promotion of Investments are bilateral instruments containing binding measures aimed at creating more favorable conditions for investments by investors of one signatory state in the territory of another, ensuring more favorable treatment of investors and a guarantee of complete security and protection of investments already made, on a reciprocal basis.


These agreements cover four major areas: entry of investments, treatment of investments, expropriation and losses on investments, and conflict resolution.


Portugal has signed agreements with the following countries: Albania, Germany, Angola, Algeria, Argentina, Bosnia Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cape Verde, Chile, China, South Korea, Croatia, Cuba, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Slovakia, Slovenia, Philippines, Gabon, Guinea-Bissau, Hungary, India, Jordan, Kuwait, Latvia, Libya, Lithuania, Macao, Morocco, Mauritius, Mexico, Mozambique, Pakistan, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Qatar, Czech Republic, Republic of the Congo, Romania, Russia, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Serbia, Timor, Tunisia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, Ukraine, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Venezuela and Zimbabwe.


The agreements and the markets where Portugal has executed such treaties, as well as the countries in which they are in place, can be viewed in Aicep’s digital library (PDF format, requires registration in Aicep’s digital library).


This document, while not exhaustive, includes a listing of bilateral economic agreements between Portugal and over 100 countries and territories between 1980 and December 31, 2016.