Agência para o Investimento e Comércio Externo de Portugal


Contact Us

Azores Region

Download file 

Why Azores?  





ü The Azores archipelago is composed of nine islands, divided into three main groups: Western Group: Corvo and Flores; Central Group: Faial, Graciosa, Pico, São Jorge e Terceira; Eastern Group: Santa Maria e S. Miguel and several rocks and ocean reefs located on the northside of the archipelago.  


ü The Azores has a land area of 2,322 km2 and a coastline of 943 km.



Area (km2): 2,322.0


inhab/Km2: 105.9


Population (N.): 245,811 (2010)2



ü 97% of the water supply in the Azores Islands is provided by underground water sources.


ü Excellent environmental habitat for several marine species (8,772.7 ha).


ü Good infrastructures: efficient transport system (ports, airports and roadways network), adapted to the characteristics of the archipelago (geography and population density).



Marinas / Yachting Harbors 5 Marinas / Yachting Harbors - Ponta Delgada,Vila Franca do Campo, Praia da VitóriaHorta, Angra do Heroísmo




Portos Marítimos

3 Maritime Ports - Ponta DelgadaPraia da VitóriaHorta (passangers and goods) 




Aeroportos e Aeródromos9  Airports - Ponta Delgada, Horta, Santa Maria,Flores, Graciosa, Pico, São Jorge, Corvo





ü Due to its geological origin (volcanic) and its geographical location, the Azores islands are exposed to natural hazards.



Links and Useful Contacts 









Regions of Portugal 






      · Area
                · Islands

         ·  People 
      ·  Economy   
      ·  Companies